h1

pills and hills …

December 3, 2008

good morning world. i just thought i would blog a bit before i pass into a drug induced coma here. like kevin posted already, i made it through the surgery just fine. fingers are crossed that the bit of bone from my tibia will indeed do the job to ‘fuse’ the joint/bone in my foot. now that i am bionic woman (complete with four metal surgical screws) i wish they would have told me though that the pain i experienced in the ‘post op’ recovery area would worsen and increase by the time the dilaudid had worn off and kevin hauled me up the stairs. i guess when the doctor warns you there is going to be a lot of pain, he speaks the truth. anyways. needless to say, the past two days havent been a ride in the park. one might think being laid up is a good excuse to read, watch, and relish in whatever lazy activity comes your way. unfortunately, between the pain pills wearing off and me dozing off in a lucid non-REM sleep inspired state things dont work out so seamlessly. i don’t mean to sound like a whiney baby, but if you took the time to read my whines i guess you kind of care, and for that i thank you. 🙂 i am optimistic that come spring i will be hiking, kayaking, and camping with little to no pain. optimism heals.

Good thing the government isn’t run by “Dwight Schrute : In the wild, there is no health care. In the wild, health care is, ‘Ow, I hurt my leg. I can’t run. A lion eats me. I’m dead.’ Well, I’m not dead. I’m the lion. You’re dead.”

in light of that, i will now post some lovely photos from my ‘last walk’ in nature before surgery on Sunday. the family, minus brother Sean, ventured into the beautiful and serene woods of Beazell park in Kings Valley, OR. Everyone, the dogs included had a blast. Here are some moments, captive to the camera.

One comment

  1. I’m glad you didn’t get eaten by a lion! 🙂



Leave a Reply

