h1

stitch and bone

December 16, 2008

this morning my dad and i ventured down the icy streets to my surgeons office. lucky for us, it is less then a mile down the road, since the icy conditions on the road even prompted kevin to use public transit (which, in my opinion is a good idea anyways!) making my way out of the car, careful to avoid patches of ice on my crutches, i hobbled up to the third floor of the orthopedic and fracture clinic. we had a fun time seeing dr davitt and his assistant gail, who gleefully it seemed, yanked the stitches out of the 4+inch gash in my foot. ouch! in preparation i had taken a pain pill .. and what a good idea that was, as i realize now, i can take out hundreds of other peoples stitches, but when it came to my own body, let’s just say i might have left a sweat stain on the table 🙂 it was awfully hot in there. in celebration of my transition from splint to sleek, stylish cast i have posted some pictures below. beware, faint of heart, there are some close up portraits of the foot, not the prettiest picture (but i might add, pretty by standards of post-op recovery, not a sign of infection in sight!)i will have to post a picture of the screws in my foot somehow … it is all rather fascinating .. for me 🙂

hmm. unsuspecting, i attempt a smile larger than life

hmm. unsuspecting, i attempt a smile larger than life

aw, ouchy. notice that my leg says, YES (that will probably remain in the 5 weeks i wear the cast, since i can't wash my leg!)

aw, ouchy. notice that my leg says, YES (that will probably remain in the 5 weeks i wear the cast, since i can't wash my leg!)

this truly is an art ...

this truly is an art ...wow. hot stuf.

the nasty black scab by my knee is where they took my bone for the graft.

the nasty black scab by my knee is where they took my bone for the graft.

) i will need to find a new sock for after christmas though ..

cute old ladies make cast toe covers, santa was so fitting 🙂 i will need to find a new sock for after christmas though ..

yay for christmas trees in a shopping cart!

yay for christmas trees in a shopping cart!

a big thank you to poppa hayes, who not only held my hand during the foot ordeal, he also took me on my first public outing since the surgery – FRED MEYER! AND best yet, hooked me up with the Christmas tree I so dearly wanted, but didn’t trust my Kevin would have the time to get for me (don’t worry, he will have the time to set it up though!) Thank you Chemeketa for yet another snow day 🙂

2 comments

  1. best of luck to a quick healing … i knew about your foot, but didn’t know that you had to get all pinned up. What a bummer. take it easy!


  2. What an interesting analysis of your day in becoming cast-ful, but you failed to talk about the Fred Meyer motorized cart adventure … they are still talking about the crazy young woman richocheting off the aisles … just like Mr Toads Wild Ride at Disneyland

    🙂



Leave a Reply

